meterkillo.blogg.se

What is a text editor box
What is a text editor box












what is a text editor box

In addition, I would not compare this functionality too much with Google Docs, MS Office, etc. After having figured this out, it is equally easy having in mind the next years of working faster with the popup. Furthermore, I agree with that it might be easier having all buttons in the fix toolbar but only in the first use. Moreover, the two options Add Link and Link File are very sleek compared to the popups in Notion and Medium above, which are very distracting in my opinion. When highlighting the text with my cursor, the popup is right above the cursor - love an additional Insert/Add menu button in the fix toolbox opening another layer of buttons would be an additional mouse click and selection process and further slowdown. I can work much faster when setting links because I do not have to go up with my mouse cursor to the fixed toolbar every time when I want to set a link. Please keep in mind that the floating toolbar (popup) has one major advantage. Disable the stacked function on top of the double-clickįirst, I had similar thoughts as but this changed when working with Nextcloud Text over time.Move the Link a File function and icon to the toolbar.Move the Add Link function and icon to the toolbar.Not one to complain without offering potential solutions, here are mine: But, I suspect this was designed for general use and was not designed with link creation as its primary function. If the editor's primary task was to create links, then it may be more acceptable to move those two options from the toolbar and stack them on the double click action. I'm not sure deviating from these 2 design patterns and breaking from expected behavior provides a clear benefit. If we need to link, we will check the toolbar, as this is where the dominant and generally accepted pattern UI pattern places these two functions (including the editor that I'm using to type this). ToolBar - all other editor functions are in the toolbar, where they should be. Why is it asking me to Add a Link? Why is it asking me to Link a File? Why does it ask every single time? Out of the hundreds of pop-up boxes that appeared during the authoring of my document, not once did I need to add a link or link a file, and as time elapsed I found it bothersome which increased my frustration. The expected double click behavior was modified so when this additional pop-up box appears I'm forced to pause my thoughts about the content of my document and deal with this interruption. Ultimately I discovered there are 2 deviations from dominant and universally accepted UI design patterns which were starting to bug me.ĭouble Click - Stacking additional functionality on top of the double click action breaks mental flow and increases cognitive load. I found myself becoming frustrated when typing up a document so decided to pause and dig in to discover this source of frustration. Thanks for listening and I appreciate all the work you do on nextcloud. Move the Add Link and Link File buttons to the tool bar. Screen shot where the pop-up box appears: Text app version: unsure which Text app is causing this, I have Plain Text Editor disabled Triple-clicking will often select the associated line or sentence. The typical pattern for mouse clicks in a text editor is double-clicking selects the associated word.

what is a text editor box

You'll find the pop-up box with Add Link and Link File.Triple-clicking will often select the associated line or sentence.īreaking this pattern by having this box pop-up has become rather bothersome and ultimately, frustrating.Ī suggestion is to move the Add Link icon and Link File icon to the icon row at the top of the editor. I'm not aware of any other modern editor that behaves this way. Double clicking on any text causes a small pop-up box with Add Link and Link File.














What is a text editor box